1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Why flash carts are legal?

Discussion in 'Non-Emulation Help' started by Mein, Dec 3, 2009.

1. Mein

Mein Well-Known Member

While the Roms are illegal.
    I know that Roms are illegal if you don't have the original copy, but why flash carts that support Rom are legal?

Sorry, i don't know where i should post. Since this board seem perfect.

2. ggrroohh

ggrroohh Well-Known Member

I'm not good at explaining so think of it like this.
    A plastic bag isn't illegal while a plastic bag filled with drugs is certainly illegal.
    It depends on what's inside.

3. theunderling

theunderling Well-Known Member

There was a thread a couple of weeks ago saying they were "illegal".It was something to do with Nintendo saying something about "exporting" the carts.

4. mds64

mds64 Well-Known Member

Preety much the right answer if your in australia.

In a busy shopping centre, I saw a mobile phone stall with an r4i gold for sale...

(NO this isn't one of those dodgy asian-type stalls ethier as this had mostly aussie staff who actually had a clue-and I'm half asian so I'm guilty myself XD)

Anyway, she explained as long as there isn't any roms on it, it can be sold, as it can also do movies and music, which they can load for you.

Then again downloading music and movies can also be illegal..hrm.

Anyway, it's legal to buy those, but if they already have roms like I seen some market stalls have...best read carefully especially if there is police around XD

The roms from here are towards the "black" list of the downloads, however companies like EA and THQ know we exist because they send letter's every now and then, just asking for whatever game is hosted to be taken down.

RomUlation complies, they stay, for good as nintendo is too busy stopping the card exporters XD

5. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member