1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Laptop cooling fan or Laptop cooling pad?

Discussion in 'Computers & Modding' started by damanali, Sep 13, 2014.

1. damanali

damanali Well-Known Member

Which is better?

Cooling fan uses usb power to run a fan or 2 and blows air under your laptop, also known as active cooling while cooling pad is passive where you just place it underneath your laptop and it absorbs heat from it.

2. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

I use those usb 4.5" diameter fan during long hour use. Never tried the other device. I'd say it depends on your daily usage. If it's long hour use, I'd think the fan is the better choice. But what's really important in my opinion is to elevate the laptop just enough so air can circulate under it, and be sure to dust the on-board fan periodically. Then again I'm no expert on this, thus I might even suggest placing an air-con unit underneath it. :p

3. damanali

damanali Well-Known Member

About the fan, does the material also matter in cooling laptops? Like, aluminum vs. plastic fan blades? Size and and number of fans in one package?

4. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

Lets see, hope my insight is not misleading;