1. This forum is in read-only mode.

YSMenu vs. Wood R4 - What's your take?

Discussion in 'Flashcart Help' started by nulliform, Aug 28, 2010.

1. nulliform

nulliform New Member

First of all, hello I'm a bit new to the whole NDS deal with flashcarts and the like. I've had some experience in general but after doing some research with R4's firmware going out of date, everything's just so new to me now. (also I hope I posted this in the right spot. If you feel it should be moved, by all means!)

Anyway I've done a bit of searching around all over the place and I've found that there are in fact replacements/mods for the original R4's firmware considering you need to patch so many games just for them to work anymore on it. (I have the original R4 if you're curious) My question is pretty much as the title states: which is better? I've had trouble determining which despite all the search attempts I've done so any straight up opinions would be helpful. I know there are variances depending on whether or not a specific game will work on either substitute, but it seems in many cases both are pretty good.

So far I've learned this: (It's not really complete/correct so if anyone could expand on this it'd be great)

1.) YSMenu seemed very technical, although the community here has been extremely helpful to post premade, ready-to-use files that you simply have to transfer. I have heard comments though that YSMenu can sometimes have issues with performance when it comes to loading games (is this correct at all?) Is there anything else I should look out for in terms of configuration?