1. This forum is in read-only mode.

USB microSD port no longer is recognized in computer

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by badknight14, Mar 30, 2010.

1. badknight14

badknight14 New Member

Hey,

I am new to the forms so I am sorry if this has already been put up. The device that allows me to drag games onto the memory chip is no longer working. Randomly the device stopped. At first the device worked perfectly. But now the device is (Unknown Device) and I can no longer drag stuff onto my r4.

Does anyone know what to do?

Thanks

2. rell

rell Well-Known Member

try formatting.

3. TirithRR

TirithRR Well-Known Member

You won't be able to format it if the computer doesn't recognize that it is a drive attached.

Try a different USB port. One not next to the one you are currently using, since computers usually have multiple USB ports chained to a single input. So if you are using one on the back, try one on the front, etc.

Try a different MicroSD adapter. They do tend to fail, especially the ones shipped with flashcarts, which are generally cheaper quality.

4. badknight14

badknight14 New Member

Hey,

Thanks for your response. What do you mean by formatting?

5. TirithRR

Formatting basically resets the drive and makes sure that it's in a format that the computer can understand.
    In the process, it also deletes all the files on your drive.

When formatting SD drives, you should use this program:
    http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/

6. badknight14

badknight14 New Member

Okay thank you.

7. Inunah

Inunah Well-Known Member

And depending on what program you format with, it also screws up and whatever amount of your drive was taken up before formatting is the new max amount your drive can take! (It happened to me... I was screwed out of almost .20 of my 2gb Micro SD card.)

8. TirithRR