1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Two R4 Questions from a total n00b.

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Nintendophile, Jun 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nintendophile

Nintendophile Member

Hello everyone. ^_^

I recently decided to purchase an R4 for my DS. A quick Yahoo search brought me to;

http://www.r4ds.com/

Which I'm assuming is the official R4 site. Next, I clicked on "Where to buy R4", and it brought me to a page with a link to the online store "RaidenTech" which brought me to this;

http://www.raidentech.com/r4dsrefornid.html?gclid=CIC_8NeY6JoCFQzxDAodYFZVCA

With an asking price of $14.95 with the option to add a 2GB Micro SD card for $8.00.

Now, my question is this; Is the site I went to the official R4 web site? And was what I ordered an R4 from RaidenTech? Since I'm completely new to all this, it's impossible for me to sniff out the reals from the fakes. I haven't received it in the mail yet, it's coming on Thursday. Once I get it, should I be looking for something special to make sure it's the real deal?

Also, my second question is; Which Micro SD card works best with the R4? Any particular brand or size? I'd really like to get a larger size than a 2GB. Would a larger size still work just as well?

Thank you for your patience with a n00b. The best way to learn is to ask questions, right? ^_^

(Nintendophile)

2. anandjones

anandjones Well-Known Member

Official R4DS website yes. It'll be a clone definitely. Unfortunately, the original R4 does not support SDHC capacity, so you can't go higher than 2GB (although there used to be 4GB NonSDHCs).

Indeed =]

3. Nintendophile

Nintendophile Member