1. This forum is in read-only mode.

The difference between...

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by delirious_monkey, Oct 5, 2012.

1. Sorry if this is already out there, I'm new to emulators of any kind. I have the latest version of no$gba and have played through Pokemon White(NDS File) on it, lots of fun, but I'm trying to play Dragon Quest IX now and can't seem to find an NDS file, all I see are .rar files. Any suggestions?

2. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

extract the rar file with winrar.

3. It's not compressed and doesn't have an extract option, looks like:
    [​IMG]

4. Loonylion

it is compressed. rar files are compressed archives. you need to download and install winrar from www.rarlab.com and extract it.

5. Jhon 591

Jhon 591 Well-Known Member

Yep it says

Type RAR file

As Loonylion says install winrar then extract file from compressed arcive.

6. Okay, thank you for the help. Never seen a compressed folder without the zipped folder icon. But why is it in Spanish? I mean game play is in Spanish, plays fine but both downloads -- Rom and WinRar -- were in English, so what gives?

7. necr0

necr0 Well-Known Member

RAR is a special compression made by third parties. You need to dowload and install their software to extract the files.
    If the game is in Spanish, you probably downloaded the Spanish version. If you want to play in English, download a USA version of the ROM (check the region before you download).

8. This is the link that I downloaded the rom from, it doesn't state what language clearly, but it does say Region is USA: https://www.romulation.org/NDS/5075-Dragon-Quest-IX-Sentinels-of-the-Starry-Skies-%28U%29%28M3%29.rar/
    What else could it be?
    Post Merge: [time]1349486160[/time]
    Okay, i have tried several different downloads, even finding a .zip version, uninstalling WinRar, and extracting with my PC's default extract tool, and the damn game still comes out in Spanish... Any help would be appreciated.