1. This forum is in read-only mode.

The Difference Between R4 and AceKart, M3 etc! Once and for all!

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by subzero90, May 29, 2010.

1. subzero90

subzero90 Member

Hi guys, well as you can tell, Im new to this stuff [I ordered my R4 today] and after hours and hours of reading, I find out that R4 firmware will never ever be upgraded because the R4 team is no more...

I have a DSLite and I ordered an R4 with 2GB card, yet now I am beginning to understand the OTHER firmwares people have such as AceKart M3 etc....

My question to you all is:

If the firmware is only some files that i need to download onto the microSD card, then doesnt this mean that I can choose any firmware I want?? For example, my R4 that is coming soon hopefully, can I download the CycloDS/M3 [sp?] files and put it onto the formatted card and thus have the CycloDS/m3 firmware??

IF it isnt possible, why not?? Arent all flashcarts made of microSD cards and adaptors?

Also people refer to 'Original R4' will my newly purchased R4 not be counted among that?

Also, whats the difference between Kernel and WoodR4?

Which would I need to download?

And the most hated question of all, Ive been reading the pokemon HG/SS threads and Ive donwloaded all the prepatched roms, just to confirm they will work on the R4 right?

Thank you in advance!

=]

2. blazza08

blazza08 Active Member

First off big mistake the R4 is outdated and almost all new GOOD games have anti piracy that stops them working on your extremely outdated flashcard and is not in production anymore so the R4 you purchased is a clone/fake. the reason the original R4 has stopped being made is because nintendo sued them under the copyright and piracy act. (please correct me if im wrong)