1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Rom games

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by noles92, Dec 10, 2010.

1. noles92

noles92 New Member

I'm somewhat new to this and I have seen the game DS downloads and the size of these seem pretty small from 10 mb's and up. Is this correct? The Wii games are gig's in size. How can the DS games be so small?

Thanks for any clarity on this

2. will1008

will1008 Well-Known Member

For me, DS ROM sizes are smaller since DS = handheld and Wii = console.
    They have different graphics and all those specifications. And, last time I checked, console ISOs or ROMSs are naturally big (Ranging in 500+ MB to 1 GB)
    I still would like to hear the accurate answer from you console owners.

3. Zydaline

Zydaline Well-Known Member

Console games are bigger than handhelds. Though that's not always the case as there are some PSP ones that are 1.5+ gb (DJ Max was one of these, if I'm not mistaken.) So yeah, the DS files are one of the smaller ones. Less data = smaller size = less awesome graphics. Though that's not always the case. Recently I've noticed that games like Golden Sun and Pokemon are breaking the 200 mb size.

4. mds64

mds64 Well-Known Member

It depends on how much data is used in a game.

The only nes games could be 200kb at the most (or more-been ages since i checked mine).

The bigger games are on the ps3, around 40gb for god of war 3...50gb for metal gear solid 4.

The more stuff=bigger data size, hence why ds are so small (yet in comparison to the past, MASSIVE)

5. noles92

noles92 New Member