1. This forum is in read-only mode.

r4i stopped working after change of icon?

Discussion in 'Flashcart Help' started by Zanate, Apr 30, 2013.

1. Zanate

Zanate New Member

Hi,
    I'm totally new in the r4i stuff, always bought games before but finally decided it's taking way too much money. So I got a r4i card and... actually it's kinda long story, sorry for me being noob, I just don't know what else I can do.

at first I uploaded totally random kernel on the SD card. I had the Spongebob icon then and when I tried to play it, it was just "Loading" screen and nothing else happened, so I thought something went bad. I cleaned the SD card, made a format and put the firmware I found at the site of my r4i: r4i3d.com - all three - kernel, update and... second update? No idea, maybe it was just some kind of patch - it was a *.nds file. Again Spongebob icon appeared and this time R4i menu started! But I was so stupid... that I run that *.nds file. It asked me if I want to update, I clicked yes and... Here's where the real trouble begins.
    The icon changed from Spongebob to Konami Digital Entertainment with alot of Japanese letters. No matter what I do now, how many times I format the SD card or try to change the kernel, I'm getting the info that "an error has occurred, hold the power button etc".

If that helps: My system is Nintendo 3DS 5.1.0-11, r4i comes from the website I mentioned before, it's the 2013 version.

Also... I can't put the r4i in any other system cause of one simply reason... I don't know anyone with DS other than me, so I'm looking for a way to solve that without another system.

Sorry for any grammar mistakes, english isn't my native language.

2. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

Your cart is from : http://www.r4i3d.com/index.htm?l=en_US ? Right? Well it does show it has support for v.5.1.0-11 (3DS) and v.1.45 (DSi).
    You're not suppose to random try kernels without first knowing if it's meant for your cart or not. Cause it could be fatal.