1. This forum is in read-only mode.

R4i Gold problem

Discussion in 'Flashcart Help' started by maffa50, Nov 14, 2012.

1. maffa50

maffa50 New Member

I just bought an R4i Gold thing for Nintendo DSi and can't seem to get it to work.
    I've never used anything like this before so my knowledge of this kind of thing is null.

When I turn on my DSi after plugging it in, it shows 'Narnia: Prince Caspian' where the R4i should be on the menu.
    When I select the game I get an error screen saying "An error has occurred. Press and hold the POWER Button to turn the system off. Please refer to the Nintendo DSi Operations Manual for details."

The only thing I have on the SD card is what I believe to be the latest kernal, although I'm not entirely sure as I've tried about 4 different kernals that each have been said to be the latest.

Any point in the right direction would be much appreciated :D

I'm using Windows Vista, if it makes much of a difference.
    Also Nintendo software should be up to date.

EDIT: Just read the 'to avoid' list... Feel like a bit of a tard now...

2. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

Suggestion:
    1. Write the complete name of the R4 (see cart's body)
    2. Cart's picture (take photo or google it)
    3. Official website (check on the sticker or box)
    4. Cart's firmware (maybe even list the SD Micro's content)
    To know, either open the files inside the SD Micro, or run it on the DSi.
    5. DSi's firmware

Your long written OP isn't much to help you. But your issues could be caused by either of these;
    1. Wrongly updated flash cart firmware
    2. The DSi firmware been updated to the latest but the R4 hasn't been updated