1. This forum is in read-only mode.

R4 question

Discussion in 'Flashcart Help' started by assguy, Dec 19, 2012.

1. assguy

assguy Member

Hi, R4 newbie here. ;D

I just received my R4DS (the original one I think) and I'm looking into it, but I'm a bit confused.

My card says "Moonshell 1.6 support", which I think is the OS, but from what I've understood, Wood is another OS that's better? Am I correct in thinking I should install wood R4?

I got a kit that comes only with the flashcart and USB card reader, no CD. Can I just download the OS and then it'll work?

There are downloads on the r4ds website, should I use those?

Any beginner tip is welcome. ;)

Thanks

Edit 2

This website seems like it has good instructions, I think I'll follow it.
    newfyworld.hubpages.com/hub/Wood-R4-kernel-VS-R4-kernel

2. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

no, moonshell is not the OS. Moonshell is a media player that often comes with flashcarts, it is independent of the flashcart firmware (the OS)

Wood is a third party firmware for some flashcarts, it will only work on a few different models of R4.

The easy way to tell whether or not your R4 is an original is can it use microsd cards 4GB or higher. If it can, it is not an original R4.

3. assguy

assguy Member

Oh, haha, thanks for clearing that up. :p
    I'm 99.9% sure I have the original, when I bought it I was aware of the 2 gb limit.

My question now is that the r4ds website has wood 1.55, but it doesn't seem to be anywhere else (updated dec. 15th). It is not mentioned on this thread (forum.romulation.net/index.php?topic=39701.0). Should I use 1.54 instead because that one is known to work, or is it safe to go for the newest?

4. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

WoodR4iDSN v.1.55 is for R4i Gold only.
    For original R4 it is still on v.1.54.

5. assguy

assguy Member

So this is not to be trusted? taken from r4ds.com/wood-r4/download-wood-r4-1.55-kernel.html

Wood R4 1.55 Kernel Download

Size:2.12 MB