1. This forum is in read-only mode.

PSX ISOs on PS2?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Busterthefox, Oct 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Busterthefox

Busterthefox Member

:p

So lately I've been trying to write some PSX games to CD-RWs for play on my PS2...now, I just got the thing yesterday(The PS2, that is), so I'm totally new to the PlayStation way of things. XD

I've used Alcohol 120% to write it, using the Play Station default(and I've heard it works best to write it at 4x speed...xp). But when I put it in the PS2, nothing happens. In the browser menu, theres the MemCard, but underneath that it just says "Reading disk...". And...it's just...flashing...down there...no matter how long I leave it. :-X I've also tried writing it with the PS2 settings on the program, but that doesn't work either.

And, of course, it reads normal PS2 disks(And DVDs for that matter) perfectly fine. =p The only things I can think of right now that could be wrong:

I need to get the full version of 120%?
    I have the settings wrong?
    Need a different program to make PSX games work on PS2?
    Need a better disk?

Info:
    PS2 console version 2.00
    Memorex CD-RW 12x 700MB disk
    Trying to write Final Fantasy VII (.CCD) or Monster Rancher Battle Card Episode II (.CUE)
    Obviously, I'm using the trial version of alcohol.

So, anyone who can help? If you've got PSX games working on a PS2, please tell me how you did it. >_< Even if you didn't use alcohol. =p Thanks in advance!

2. MadmanNero

MadmanNero Well-Known Member

You will still have to have your Ps2 chipped/modded to play back-up ps1/ps2 games. Also you need to burn the PSX games onto CD-R not CD-RW and just about any burning program should burn PSX pretty easily.

3. Jhon 591

Jhon 591 Well-Known Member

If you down't have a modchip , try geting a swapmagic disc.

4. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

CDRWs will not work.

5. mds64

mds64 Well-Known Member