1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Playing ROMs on DSi. Is it possible?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by wants2getaDSi, Mar 15, 2011.

1. wants2getaDSi

wants2getaDSi New Member

Hi guys,
    I'm new to this awesome forum and I'm also new to nintendo handhelds. I'm seriously thinking of getting a nintendo DSi soon, but I would like to know if and how easy it is to be able to play ROMs I downloaded off the internet since I saw on it's review that the DSi had an SD card slot.
    I used to own a PSP phat some time ago before I gave it out. I remember I could play games from my SD memory cards after doing the modding and installing the custom firmware by DarkAlex. Is it the same for the DSi? What do I need to play ROMs on it?
    I intend to buy a few games along with the DSi, but I don't plan on buying cartridges every time.
    Lastly, I'm not so computer-savvy, so please any help in simple understandable words would be highly appreciated.
    I really really hope someone replies soon.
    THANKS A LOT! :)

2. Tanuken

Tanuken Well-Known Member

ZOMG! Yes you can.

3. MichaRulez

MichaRulez Well-Known Member

Sure you want to buy a DSi instead of a 3DS? 3DS will come soon... well ok back to topic

Of course you can. If you have a DS than you can buy a "card" for 10$ - 20$ . There are a few "SUPERcard, Acekart, R4i" just google and you will see what I mean. In that "card" you can put a microSD Card with the games on it. When you start your DS than, than it will start the programm of your card and you can choose the games you want to play, which you have putted on your SDCard. I have experience with PSP too, the games there have 1GB or higher. On DS it's a bit easier, there are games with 32 MB, 64 MB, 128 MB and I think max was 256 MB

4. wants2getaDSi

wants2getaDSi New Member