1. This forum is in read-only mode.

N64 Emulator on DS

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Busterthefox, Oct 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Busterthefox

Busterthefox Member

Before you take me for a n00b, I know it's not possible to make a perfect DS emulator for this type of thing; but from what I've heard, it only has to do with processing power and graphics and such.

But my question is, has anyone even tried it yet? >_> I mean, I would be happy with no sound, half speed, and only just legible graphics. If it's possible to get it that way, I wish they would at least let people like me download them. Or is there some other factor I don't know about preventing it from running N64 games in a playable state(Besides the lack of buttons that could maybe be on the touch screen)?

Now, I'm no programmer, but I do know that it takes ~twice as much processing power for a system to run an emulator; the system runs the emulator as a game, and that program runs a SECOND game from somewhere in the card.
    That's easy enough to understand.
    But, what if someone made some sort of converting/patching program that turned each N64 game into one emuGame? That is, just one .NDS file that has the game and the emulator in one place, basically.

Well, that's all I got. Think it holds any water? =p

Also, I guess this doesn't really belong in this forum, huh? Sorry, I'm still new around here. XD This belongs in a more dicussion-related category. X\

2. dragneon007

dragneon007 Well-Known Member

from what I read it's clearly not possible and it would be nice to play a portable zelda and smashbros meh maybe not smashbros since it would be to short but games like golden eye would also prove to be hard to pull off since games like that use more buttons as well and that game uses C buttons and they would prove difficult to play, unless.. they used a controll hack but I bet it if they ever did which they wont it would run slow as hell.