1. This forum is in read-only mode.

I'm a noob

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by sonicfreak, May 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sonicfreak

sonicfreak Member

:(

A friend of mine just recently got me interested in the emulator thing. So, i decided, "Hey i should try that out, sounds like fun". So yesterday I downloaded Harvest Moon: Friends Of Mineral Town, and VisualBoy Advance 1.8.0 beta3. I unzipped the emulator, opened it up, went to open and selected Harvest Moon: Friends Of Mineral Town then i got this error code.

No image found on Zip file (insert lots of numbers and the name of the ROM)

What is wrong and how do i fix it?

I am using a laptop with a 1.6ghz CPU and 512 MB of ram.
    if this is already posted somewhere else, please give me the link.

2. TirithRR

TirithRR Well-Known Member

You need to extract the ROM from the file you downloaded. Using a program like WinRAR from http://www.rarlab.com/

3. sonicfreak

sonicfreak Member

ok, I have WinRAR. now what?

4. Ultimate-Sonic-3000

Ultimate-Sonic-3000 Well-Known Member

NO! Get JZip from www.jzip.com because WinRAR is a shareware program but JZip is a freeware program.

5. sonicfreak

sonicfreak Member

well, crap. Its kind of late now. (wait, lets pretend i don't know the difference between Share- and Freeware)

6. TirithRR

Ultimate, stop confusing the new people. WinRAR is perfectly fine.

Sonic, follow this tutorial.
    https://www.romulation.org/forum/index.php?topic=3880.0

(I hate it when people pipe up after an answer was given saying "NO don't use that program which works perfectly fine!!!!")

As far as the real difference between the two:
    WinRAR gives you the option to buy a license, but it's not necessary to use it.
    Jzip gives you the option to donate to the developers, but it's not necessary to use it.

7. sonicfreak

sonicfreak Member

Thank you for caring! ;D
    It is working now.

(I know what you mean!)

8. Ultimate-Sonic-3000