1. This forum is in read-only mode.

I am now a medical student... university advice please!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BloodVayne, Apr 18, 2010.

1. BloodVayne

BloodVayne Well-Known Member

So, yesterday I got the results of my university entrance exams. (past thread here http://forum.romulation.net/index.php?topic=37734 )The wait had been KILLING me for the past three weeks. It got to the point where I refused to speak of the exams to my friends lest I ruin the mood by saying something nasty :p

Needless to say, I got in the faculty I was hoping for; I am now officially going to med school ;D

On that point, does anyone have any advice for a new college student, particularly a med student? I'm unfortunately "blind" on this issue... Thanks beforehand...

2. tehuber1337

tehuber1337 Well-Known Member

College/university will probably be the last time in your life you'll be able to chillax in a real social mixing pot of people from all walks of life and with such varying aspirations. Enjoy it for all its worth - study hearty, party hearty.

That said, if you want more specific advice (eg "how do I discern saline from saliva"), you'll have to make a more specific request.

3. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

if you have to get a job don't work (in the job) more than 14 hours a week and don't have a job in your final year is what we were told. Though for a lot of students thats easier said than done.

4. manaseater

manaseater Well-Known Member

Get ready to hit the books like never before. managing a social life and study life (if you hope to pass) will actually be difficult now- you will have to plan your time well if you want to have any relaxation time. Exams in med school require a minimum of a month to prepare for, so forget about last minute cram up....

trust me, im in final MBBS part II.

5. Arron_zero

Arron_zero Well-Known Member