1. This forum is in read-only mode.

How many games can I fit on a 2g micro sd?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by aimeelou49, Feb 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aimeelou49

aimeelou49 Member

I've just bought an R4 card for my son's DS for his birthday. He knows he's getting one but he doesn't know that it's arrived yet and that his poor old Mum (me) is trying to set it up for him so it's all ready to go on Tuesday.

He's compiled a list of games that he would like to put on his DS but I'm wondering just how many games approx. I will be able to fit on a 2g micro thingamy? (As you can tell by my terminology I'm a bit of a noob at this). Obviously, I know it depends on the size of the games but I don't want to needlessly downlolad a ton of games if I can't transfer all of them.

The sort of games he has written down are, Pokemon Diamond, Pearl & Platinum, Mario Kart DS, Dragon Quest, Football Director & Football Academy etc. I don't know how large these files are but I can't see me fitting about the 30 or so games he has listed, of that type, onto it.

Sorry to ask such an inane question, but I'm about as familiar with this as I am with open-heart surgery. Any help would be most appreciated. ???

2. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

At a rough estimate I would say 15-20. He will unfortunately have to wait for pokemon platinum, as it is not released for another month yet (unless he wants to try his luck with the japanese version).

3. monnas

monnas New Member

My daughter has 35 games on hers (2GB) but as you mentioned, it depends on the size of each game.
    Keep in mind not to load it to the hilt as the card creates a .sav file for each game when played in order to save game play data, these files are not big (around 512kb form memory) but 30 games would need 15mb free for .sav data.

Enjoy, he will love it and you will be the best Mum on earth that day ;D

4. aimeelou49

aimeelou49 Member