1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Happy Eid ul-Fitr!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BloodVayne, Sep 30, 2008.

1. BloodVayne

BloodVayne Well-Known Member

Not sure if this is the right place >.> . But to all Muslim Romulation members, have a happy Eid ul-Fitr! Eid Mubarok, etc. etc. :) .

2. Adnan1992

Adnan1992 Well-Known Member

YAY!!! A fellow muslim!! Eid Muburak!!!

I hear Eid is at different times in places... are you in Britain? Apparently in Bangladesh it's tommorow.

Mum cooking a great big feast right now can't wait!! Hope the fasting wasn't too hard this year and may the rest of the year bring you good fortunes and happiness inshallah

3. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

I can't remember much about it, but if I am correct the timing of Eid is calculated by the moon, if so then yes it will be different depending on your location. Long time since I studied Islam though.

4. sesa

sesa Well-Known Member

I live California and its not till Thursday but I think Sunni out here are stopping tomorrow.

5. Adnan1992

Adnan1992 Well-Known Member

Yes, islamic years are under lunar calenday as that was the calender at the time of prophet Muhamed (PBUH).

Just out is question, shouldn't all religons follow lunar calender?, because the solar calender was created after the births of these religons. (Please i'm not looking for a fight here.)

6. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

they quite probably did at one point, they just changed when the lunar calendar fell out of common use. After all, its easier for people to understand a system they commonly use. Evidently Muslims learn to use more than one system. I wouldnt like to say what calendar pagans use, we do a lot of stuff based on both the moon and seasons. I guess if it came to it, it could well be the lunar. Christianity started around Roman times (before that it was Judaism) and I assume used the Roman calendar before switching to Gregorian.

7. Littlekill