1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Game engines, programming languages, etc

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by codemeister1990, Aug 7, 2008.

1. I've been looking a little deeper into programming languages since RPG Maker XP didn't really offer the full flexibility I was looking for, I've found python but have yet to try it and I'm interested in any opinions on other languages, I know C++ is amazing etc etc, but its very hard for new programmers to learn (or so I've heard) and could possibly frustrate the hell out of me. I may still finish the RPG Maker game, but I rather start looking into this

2. anandjones

anandjones Well-Known Member

Want to learn programming languages aye. Well, I've been learning C++ and PALib (DS) for a few months now. Yes, it's best to learn easier languages, such as Ruby or Python, I have learned the basics of Python but am now into C++ and PALib. Might get into DevkitPSP if I get a PSP. RPG Maker uses Ruby, so you could get into that. Learn a few programming languages, and then get into 2D game engines, such as Sphere, Hephaestus, and then eventually into 3D, such as Ogre3D, 3D Game Studio, DarkBasic etc.

3. alright, so what the hell do I do with this "python" seeing as how that's what I'm gonna go with :l
    like...tutorials, ideas, what you did, etc?

-edit I'm on this site http://www.python.org/download/releases/2.5.2/
    and I don't know which thing to download lol

4. anandjones

Don't go with Python if you want to make games. It is possible, just not a good idea. Download the python-2.5.2.msi if you want to.

5. What programming code then is easy to start off with and there are three types of 2.5.2, I don't know which to pick

6. anandjones

Just the one named python-2.5.2.msi. Maybe DarkBasic, or something. C/C++ would be excellent for games.

7. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member