1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Formating ADATA SDHC card for DSi

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by jmohr8, May 25, 2012.

1. jmohr8

jmohr8 New Member

Hello,
    I am quite new to the DSi world. My son has just gotten one and I'd like to download some games for him. I get this part, but the part that is giving me trouble is preparing the microSD card. I've got a:

• 16GB ADATA microSDHC card
    • Class 4

I've formated it on Vista by inserting it into my laptop, right-clicking, and formating with FAT32 Filing System, Allocation Unit Size of 32 kilobytes (the default setting).

I downloaded a couple of game from Romulation, unzipped the .rar files, then loaded the .nds files onto the card (contained in no folder). I then inserted this into our DSi console and looked for the games - not there.

Could someone tell me what I'm missing?

Thank you in advance.
    John

2. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

the microsd card needs to contain the flashcart firmware as well, and I think some flashcarts expect the roms to be in a folder called 'games'

3. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

Your info isn't sufficient, you'll need to provide more detailed info;
    1. What is the flash cartridge in use? (Brand, firmware version, etc.) *Copy whatever info is written on the sticker/box of your flash cart.
    2. What is the DSi console's firmware version?
    3. Is there any secondary firmware in the SD Micro pre-installed by the flashcart seller? (YSMENU/WOOD R4/AKAIO/WAIO, etc.)
    4. Besides the .NDS files (game rom file), are there any other files in the SD MICRO? Especially before and after you format it.
    If yes, list them in your post. If not, have you followed the installation instruction provided by your flash cart maker?

Here're the reason why we need to know the above;
    1. If we know what firmware is your DSi and flash Cart, we can identify if the DSi's firmware is compatible with the flash cart or not.