1. This forum is in read-only mode.

download speeds

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mc_vampz, Aug 14, 2007.

1. mc_vampz

mc_vampz Active Member

i have seen that some members of this web site have been moaning about the download speeds not being funny but most of the roms are free so who cares if u have to wait a bit longer for it to download well that's what i think anyway.

whats yr opinion?

2. Seph

Seph Administrator Staff Member

Well as an Admin I do care about the download speeds. We're supposed to be able to push 50mbit/sec but so far we normally don't do more than 20mbit/sec, and when I go to start a download I get 25kb/s. So we've definitely got some stuff to look into, regardless of how visitors feel.

3. Reider

Reider Modereider

I don't think anyone was complaining about the download speeds being funny so much as they were complaining about them being slow.

As far as my opinion goes, I don't really care too much, but that's partially due to the fact that I know that downloading a ROM or ISO from here is a lot faster after America goes to sleep.

4. MusicAddict911

MusicAddict911 Well-Known Member

I'm getting speeds today between 100kb/s and 120kb/s so I'm happy. :)

5. DerikkuKun

DerikkuKun Member

Because I use Dial-Up my download rate is around 5.6MB - 6.1MB per second.

u___u

Curse People PC.

Dx

6. Seph

5.6MB - 6.1MB per second? Are you sure? That's like a 60mbit connection.

But talking about download speeds, I think we proved yesterday that we are capable of pushing a whole lot of data when needs be. Even now we're still using upwards of 50mbit/second. It's pretty insane really, 665GB of data sent in the last 24 hours.

7. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

he means KB/s not MB/s

8. Seph

Yeah, I figured that too. :p
    But that's actually not a bad speed for 56k dial-up.

9. ZCU

ZCU New Member