1. This forum is in read-only mode.

Did I make mistake getting this R4I?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by zenthor, Jan 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zenthor

zenthor Member

I am very new to all of this so would like some advice. I think I may have picked the wrong R4 card. I am going through randomly testing games (test=ok if it loads, and makes it to first save point). So far 3 of 10 fail.
    Here is what I have:
    DSI 1.4U
    Scandisk 4GB Micro SD
    R4I Revolution SDHC & RTS with 2.6a firmware (latest that is on the suggested d/l site by seller)
    The R4 was bought from DealExtream on the day before they pulled all R4 (and similar) items (in fear of a paypal reprisal) from their inventory.
    It came in a small white box, has a raised 1.4 yellow sticker on it. Card is black with silver writing.
    Game roms that fail (so far):

Zelda Spirit Tracks (stuck on load, nintendo screen)
    Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow (stuck on load, blank white screen)
    Glory of Hercales (stuck on load, black screen)

Here is (some of) what I have tried...
    -Searched over 20 R4 sites and tried all their latest firmware. Around 5 worked, but games still fail.
    -formatted SD card
    -tried many different rom versions (using torrents)
    -tried patch (ie, for Zelda Spirit)
    -created dummy save files

So, would I be better of getting an Acekard 2I or (???)...the information here and elsewhere is staggeringly contradictory. I think this is because there are a ton of r4's...all of them different...all with their unique quarks.
    This is why one post may say 'it works great! and another says 'it fails no matter what I try'.
    I just dont want to keep buying cards and have the same problems.

Thanks for any advice!

(Add 2 more to fail list: Bookworm (wont load) and Age of Empires, age of kings (video stutter is so bad its unplayable).
    Also...all above failed games except bookworm work perfectly on my emulator Desmume)