1. This forum is in read-only mode.

delay when game is loading

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by keithquinn, Dec 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. keithquinn

keithquinn Member

Hi there, i'm fairly new to this and have got the hang of loading my R4 card with roms and playing them but I have a wee problem...

Around a third of the games take ages (about 2-3mins) to load every time I select them, when they do eventually load they work perfectly but my kid tends not to play those games because they have to wait for a long time

I've got an R4 SDHC Upgrade Revolution card with a 4Gb SDHC micro sd, I've tried a few different menus but can't seem to fix it and no-one I know has this problem. I bought another card which is slightly different with another menu but it still does the same - can anyone help?

2. happycanman

happycanman Guest

Hi; you seem to be kitted out well. Im suprised nobody has replied :\ Oh well heres the help.

From what I understand you have a loading issue? Its a rare issue to "take long to load" so I suggest updating the firmware by visiting the manufacturers website. I too have an R4; the earlier model, and I just use the last one they published.

Not sure what else to tell you. you could try trimming the rom (google search DS Rom TrimmeR) that might help.

3. zerobahamut

zerobahamut Well-Known Member

What games would those be?

4. TirithRR

TirithRR Well-Known Member

What brand is your MicroSD? Slow MicroSDs can cause slow loading times.
    Try backing up all your files and formatting your MicroSD to start fresh.

5. keithquinn

keithquinn Member

Hi, thanks for the replies

Its a kingston micro sdhc, a decent brand as far as i know and I've formatted it a few times now...and it happens with about 30 of the games i've tried so far, Raving rabbids 2, Big Brain Academy and Mario and Sonic at the Winter Games are three games which spring to mind