1. This forum is in read-only mode.

about games

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rell, Nov 14, 2009.

1. rell

rell Well-Known Member

ok, so im new to this whole piracy thing, and i just recently figured out that they can true to sue you long story.
    a year back, someone broke onto my garrage and took my all of my gc,wii, and pc games. although i dont have the disk copy of the games anymore, i do have the recipts, is it considered piracy if i download these game from the internet??

2. sylar1000

sylar1000 Well-Known Member

Yes it would still be considered piracy, they most likely won't sue you unless it's related to movies or music.

3. rell

rell Well-Known Member

but how?? when you purchuse a game your obtaining the right to use the software not the rights to reproduce and sell the game. i read that on the internet, i was making multi disks of everygame that were taken from me, and i still have the origanal cases of some of the games that were taken... i dont want to be a pirate, but i do want to play some of my favorite games agin...

4. sylar1000

sylar1000 Well-Known Member

You're buying the right to play your copy of the game, not to reproduce it. Although there is a part where you can make a backup copy but thats kind of a gray area

5. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

you are legally permitted to make a backup copy for your own use. You are not permitted to download a copy.

6. rell

rell Well-Known Member

so me being a member of this site basically makes me a pirate b assoiation huh??

7. MadmanNero

MadmanNero Well-Known Member